News detail

4 October 2007

Top Quality Field Confirmed for the 2007 Omega Mission Hills World Cup


Players from 28 nations, who have shared in numerous triumphs around the world over the past season, will tee up at the 2007 Omega Mission Hills World Cup at Mission Hills Golf Club, China, from November 22-25.


A top quality field has now been confirmed for the event following the completion of the two qualifying competitions in Asia and Latin America last weekend, which saw ten countries join the 18 exempt nations already announced.


Thailand’s Thongchai Jaidee and Prayad Marksaeng led the way with victory in the Asian Qualifier in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, with The Netherlands, New Zealand, Korea and the Philippines also emerging successfully from the qualifying examination. Meanwhile Puerto Rico won the Omega Mission Hills World Cup Aruba Qualifier in the Dutch Caribbean to secure their place in the field along with Ireland, Colombia, Italy and Paraguay.


Major champions and a host of global winners will tee up at Mission Hills, with Germany defending the title they won in Barbados last December. This year, they will be represented by emerging star Martin Kaymer and established winner, Alex Cejka.


Two-time US Open Champion Retief Goosen of South Africa, José Maria Olazábal of Spain who designed the course at Mission Hills for the 2007 World Cup, and Mike Weir of Canada – both Masters winners - will be partnered by Trevor Immelman, Miguel Angel Jiménez and Wes Heffernan respectively.


Goosen and Immelman have both tasted World Cup success in the past. The former was part of South Africa’s victorious team in Japan in 2001 while the latter savoured success at Kiawah Island four years ago.


Goosen and Zhang Lian-wei of host country China are both making a sentimental return to Mission Hills, 12 years after representing their respective countries in the 1995 World Cup. South Africa and China finished eighth and 27th respectively that year and will be determined to secure a higher placing this time around.


The host nation, China, will be represented at the Omega Mission Hills World Cup by the older generation in Zhang – the first Chinese golfer to win on The European Tour – and the younger generation in Liang Wen-chong, the most recent player from China to win on The European Tour earlier this season in Singapore.


Confirmed field:

Argentina: Andres Romero and Ricardo Gonzalez

Australia: Nick O’Hern and Nathan Green

Austria: Markus Brier and Claude Grenier

Canada: Mike Weir and Wes Heffernan

China: Liang Wen-chong and Zhang Lian-wei

Colombia: Gustavo Mendoza and Jorge Benedetti

Denmark: Anders Hansen and Søren Hansen

England: Justin Rose and Ian Poulter

France: Raphaël Jacquelin and Gregory Havret

Finland: Mikko Ilonen and Pasi Purhonen

Germany: Martin Kaymer and Alex Cejka

India: Jyoti Randhawa and Gaurev Ghei

Ireland: Michael Hoey and Gareth Maybin

Italy: Edoardo Molinari and Francesco Molinari

Japan: Hideto Tanihara and Tetsuji Hiratsuka

Korea: Lee Seung-ho and Lee Sung

New Zealand: Richard Lee and Stephen Scahill

Paraguay: Carlos Franco and Fabrizio Zanotti

Philippines: Tony Lascuna and Gerald Rosales

Puerto Rico: Wilfredo Morales and Miguel Suárez

Scotland: Colin Montgomerie and Marc Warren

South Africa: Retief Goosen and Trevor Immelman

Spain: José Maria Olazábal and Miguel Angel Jiménez

Sweden: Robert Karlsson and Peter Hanson

Thailand: Thongchai Jaidee and Prayad Marksaeng

The Netherlands: Robert-Jan Derksen and Maarten Lafeber

United States: Arron Oberholser and Sean O’Hair

Wales: Stephen Dodd and Bradley Dredge


The 2007 Omega Mission Hills World Cup will launch a new and exciting era in the history of the event first played in 1953 as the Canada Cup. The event is set to continue through 2018, and most probably beyond, at Mission Hills following the signing of an agreement which brought the prestige watch manufacturer Omega together with the Club which introduced the game of golf to China by first hosting the World Cup in 1995.


John Jay Hopkins, the noted Canadian industrialist, brought to reality a dream that golf could promote goodwill between nations with the inaugural World Cup played in Montreal in 1953 then called the Canada Cup and re-titled The World Cup in 1967.


The International Federation of PGA Tours will, as custodians, oversee the 53rd edition of the event as it unfolds less than one year before the staging in Beijing of the Olympic Games at which Omega has a unique role as Official Timekeeper.



The prestige watch manufacturer OMEGA was founded in Switzerland in 1848 and since then has continually set the pace in the many fields of watchmaking, from sports timekeeping and design awards to watches for professional use in space or underwater. OMEGA is closely associated with a world of achievements including the conquest of space, timekeeping at 22 Olympic Games and numerous precision records as well as the launch in 1999 of the revolutionary Co-Axial calibre, one of the 20th century’s major innovations in mechanical watchmaking designed with the English master watchmaker George Daniels. OMEGA will be Official Timekeeper for the Beijing 2008, Vancouver 2010 and London 2012 Olympic Games.





OMEGA International Press Office

Tel: +41 (0) 32 343 92 11

Fax: +41 (0) 32 343 97 15