News detail

22 February 2010

Simon Ammann and Maëlle Ricker honoured by OMEGA


Two Olympic stars, two astronauts, three gold medals and two Seamaster Planet Ocean watches in the Olympic Lounge in Vancouver

OMEGA welcomed two Olympic gold medalists to its lounge on the 14th floor of the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver. Simon Ammann, the Swiss ski jump star who won two gold medals at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, was joined by Maëlle Ricker, who claimed gold in snowboard cross and became the first Canadian woman ever to win a gold medal on Canadian soil.


The two champions were presented Seamaster Planet Ocean watches by OMEGA president Stephen Urquhart and two legendary NASA astronauts, Captain Gene Cernan and General Thomas Stafford.


Cernan said to Ammann, “Tom and I have never had a chance to wear gold medals before. Could we borrow yours just for a moment?” Ammann laughed and said, “It would be an honour,” handing one medal each to one man who commanded the Apollo Soyuz Test Project 35 years ago and another who was the last human being to leave a footprint on the Moon.


Afterwards, the astronauts and athletes joined Stephen Urquhart to pose for pictures in OMEGA’s bobsleigh in front of the Official Olympic Countdown Clock in downtown Vancouver.


Ricker expressed her pleasure with her OMEGA watch, saying, “Now I definitely won't be late for any of my upcoming snowboard world cups. Olympic partners like Omega really keep the Games running on time and I'm really happy to have created a gold medal moment for Canada.”


Ammann said, “It’s great to meet athletes like Maëlle. What she did was great for her Canada. She grew up here in Vancouver – it must be an amazing feeling.”


He added, “For me, as a Swiss athlete, it’s fantastic to be honoured by OMEGA and to meet all these people from my home country.”


OMEGA is the Official Timekeeper of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games and is serving in its timekeeping role for the 24th time since 1932. In 2009, the brand announced that it has extended its partnership with the International Olympic Committee through 2020.