News detail

10 May 2003

A successful start to the 2003 OMEGA Swiss Golf Trophies


The prestigious Bad Ragaz golf club was the chosen venue for the first OMEGA Golf Trophies match of the year. The match, co-organized by OMEGA and the retailer Juwelier Huber, FL Vaduz, attracted an impressive 152 participants and is part of an event which reflects OMEGA's commitment to golf at local as well as international level. Today's match was the first in a series of 12: the winners of every match will play against each other at the Grand Final which will take place in the exclusive Alpine resort of Crans-Montana in September. <br/> <br/>

OMEGA has sealed its commitment to golf on an international level through the title sponsorship of two major tournaments: the OMEGA European Masters held in Crans- Montana (on the European PGA Tour) and the OMEGA Hong Kong Open (on the Asian PGA Tour) as well through its role as Official Timekeeper of the US PGA Tour and Senior PGA Tour. The presence of its golfing star ambassador Ernie Els adds a further touch of prestige to these tournaments. Moreover, events such as the OMEGA Swiss Golf Trophies demonstrate the brand's commitment to the sport not only at international but also at local level.

Lush green courses, breathtaking mountain views and warm sunshine were enjoyed by all who took part in this first match of this OMEGA-sponsored national competition held at the Bad Ragaz golf club. 152 people took part in total, including numerous prominent personalities from the region and from Färstentum Liechtenstein.

Co-organizer Mr Norman Huber (Juwelier Huber, FL-Vaduz) commented on the success of the first match, saying, "The OMEGA Golf Trophies is a highlight at the Bad Ragaz golf club and this can be seen by the phenomenal turnout at this year's tournament. There was a fantastic atmosphere and some great golf was played".

OMEGA looks forward to welcoming the winners of this first match , Mr Walter Fey, Mr Ivo Quirici and Ms Rahel Lüchinger at the Grand Final in September in Crans-Montana.

Winner Category 1 (up to Hcp. 18.4)

1.Walter Fey, Bad Ragaz Golf Club

Winner Cateogry 2: (18.5 to 36 Hcp.)

1.Ivo Quirici, Bad Ragaz Golf Club

Winner Juniors

1. Rahel Lüchinger, Bad Ragaz Golf Club