Skip to content
OMEGA constellation constellation deville deville straps straps seamaster seamaster speedmaster speedmaster baselworld2017 baselworld2017 baselworld2018 baselworld2018 starmen starmen specialities specialities

Frequently asked questions


General technical information

  • The quality standard for Master Chronometer calibres goes far beyond the COSC certification by which all watches are usually measured. Although COSC remains an integral part of the process, OMEGA has doubled its certification with a standard approved by the Swiss Federal Institute of Metrology (METAS).

    METAS is the official authority of the Swiss government in all matters relating to measurements and measuring equipment and procedures. As a totally independent institute, METAS is at the forefront of measurement accuracy in Switzerland and is able to establish exact and impartial criteria for defining what accuracy really is. To be awarded with the title of Master Chronometer, a watch must pass the 8 rigorous tests established by METAS. For more information on METAS certification, click here.

  • Go to the Master Chronometer section of our website and enter the information reported on your Master Chromometer card.

  • There are 3 categories of tolerances for Master Chronometer watches:

    0 to +5 seconds per day for movements with a diameter greater than 26 mm

    0 to +6 seconds per day for movements up to 26 mm and over 20 mm in diameter

    0 to +7 seconds per day for movements up to 20 mm in diameter

  • There are 2 categories of tolerances for COSC certified watches :

    -4 to +6 seconds per day for movements with a diameter greater than 20 mm

    -5 to +8 seconds per day for movements up to 20 mm in diameter

  • A chronograph is a watch with a permanent time display function and an independent mechanism that can be started, stopped and reset to measure time intervals.

    The term "chronometer" refers to a watch whose movement accuracy has been certified according to the international standard ISO3159. This certification is carried out by the Official Swiss Chronometer Testing Institute (COSC).

  • Mechanical watches are driven by a mechanical movement. There are two types of mechanical watches, those known as automatic, which are wound by the movement of the wrist, and those known as manual, which are wound solely by means of the crown.
    Quartz watches are powered by a battery.

Buying an OMEGA product


Using your OMEGA watch

Caring for your OMEGA

Find information about the brand and our product

Haven't found the answer to your question?

An OMEGA Customer Adviser will be happy to assist you!

Contact us